Contract For Finders Fee?

Old 07-23-2008, 06:33 PM   #1

Trade: Painter
Rewards Points: 10

Contract For Finders Fee?

im a painting contractor and won a bid for a restaurant with the help of another painter. I am not experienced enough to handle a job of that size or estimate it. He will be doing the work and gave me his price to do the work. I added on about 10% to the bid for my profit. I plan on him doing the work under his license, his insurance, etc. and have him receiving the payment.

I dont have insurance that covers subcontracting. The insurance agency said it would be 10-15,000/year extra to cover subs.

I want to have a contract written up to state that all work will be performed by his business, and is reponsible for any issues related to the job. He is to pay me X amount of money for closing the bid and giving him the work.

I did this another time after I had moved from DC to NJ. I had a company take a referral for a school in DC to be painted and they did the work and paid me 500 bucks. The school took forever to pay and the people that did the work were shady about getting back to me. It was a frustrating experience because it took 6 months and i had no signed contract for referral/finders fee, other than emails back and forth. In the end I made 500 bucks for doing nothing more than making a few phone calls.

Any help appreciated!

Last edited by flashme18; 07-23-2008 at 07:32 PM. Reason: forgot something

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 07-23-2008, 07:33 PM   #2
Motorboatin' son of a ...

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Contract For Finders Fee?