Builder Starting Out Need Help Screening Customers

Old 10-22-2017, 11:54 AM   #1

Trade: Builder
Rewards Points: 24

Builder Starting Out Need Help Screening Customers

Hi all, im a Builder, ive had my license for about 8 years and have come of age and am planning on using it. I havnt won any jobs yet, ive been at it for about 6 months now.

Ive been quoting jobs and the problem ive come across is time waisters, i cant tell who is legit or not. I did one quote for a guy, a home extension about 75sqm, i even had a Quantity Surveyor write up a BoQ, i came in cheaper than the QS, so i sent of the quote and the guy says "thats too much, my budget is half that".

Im not sure what to do, ill get some plans come in now and i cant be bothered waisting my time quoting the job. The last one i started to quote, i opened up the engineering plans and there incomplete, so i think to myself this is going to be a waist of time as the client is ill informed and isnt serious.

Im starting to get the feeling i should ask some confronting questions like "when do you want to start the job" or "how much is your budget". The latter question i tried on a guy and he said "you quote first" that call deteriorated quickly, he ended up hanging up one me. Funny thing is he did call me again so i referred him onto the guy im using as a manager he's better at dealing with people than i am.

Are there any builders that can offer up some advise on screening customers?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 10-22-2017, 04:44 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Specialty Structure Aluminum
Rewards Points: 473

Re: Builder Starting Out Need Help Screening Customers