Breeching A Contract With A Builder - Business - Contractor Talk

Breeching A Contract With A Builder

Old 06-05-2015, 02:21 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 14

Breeching A Contract With A Builder

This is my first time posting on CT, but I've always found this forum very helpful in beginning my business. Anyways, I recently became licensed contractor in Portland Oregon at the beginning of the year. So far I've done pretty well working for homeowners, not making tons of money but keeping my customers happy and I truly love what I do. My specialty is finish carpentry and cabinet making, which is also what I've done for the last ten years working for different remodel companies. Now I've got my license and of course my first real problem.

So in trying to gain some more steady business, I responded to a builder who was looking to have a several houses trimmed out. I of course was excited for the potential business so sent him back an estimate on the plans he gave me. In his description, he described what he was looking for as "just hanging some doors with some base and case." So i made an estimate assuming that and I signed a contract before even seeing the house!!! This in its self is the dumbest thing I've done in business so far I will admit. After seeing the project I knew I was in over my head. 3500 sq ft of base molding, craftsman style columns, a fireplace mantle, 5 piece window casings all for $2550!!!

So I clearly stepped all over myself on this one, I did not get any money down and I have no way of hiring anyone at this point to help get it done in the 4 days allotted for the project. I contacted the builder, saying that I cannot complete the project and I want out of the contract. I told him it wasn't about the money (I understand not making money is part of the risk with this business) I just know that I cannot deliver on my contract. I of course receive threats of legal action and that I am destroying their schedule.