Any Opinions Dealing With Corporate People While Doing A Commercial Job? - Business - Contractor Talk

Any Opinions Dealing With Corporate People While Doing A Commercial Job?

Old 03-01-2018, 05:17 AM   #1
New Guy

Trade: General Construction
Rewards Points: 60

Any Opinions Dealing With Corporate People While Doing A Commercial Job?

hey all, im new to the forums, looks like a good place to write about my experiences and gain some good info while doing it! Im a young contractor (31), i have a GC license in california, been in the trades since i was 16... i got my license about 3 years ago and business is growing very fast. one thing im running into doing these commercial buildouts and restaurants is dealing with other businesses while working on my own project.

so the current problem im having is at a mall, im on the second floor doing a small restaurant which sits above 3 other stores. all of our below floor plumbing runs in their ceiling, fortunately its all tbar below so its not that painful. i have in my contract a standard clause for delays not at fault of contractor, all that good stuff. i also did a very detailed schedule, had a preconstruction meeting with the mall managers, and gave 2 weeks notice to all the stores, and their respective corporate offices, i recieved confirmation as well. dates to work in their store was the 5th-14th, i padded the timeline with a few days just in case... one store didnt open up until the 9th, and even after that they missed another 3 days which pushed us past the 14th. the inspector OK'd our work but needed the system under test with a 10ft head. stores didnt open again... mall wont help...