Roofing A Geodesic Dome House

Old 01-04-2011, 04:23 PM   #1

Trade: Roofing
Rewards Points: 10

Roofing A Geodesic Dome House

I have been asked to roof a geodesic dome house. Does anyone have a simple way or formula to measure the number of squares on the house? Carl

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 01-04-2011, 05:54 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: carpenter
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Roofing A Geodesic Dome House

Here you go - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dome_(mathematics)

Old 01-11-2011, 04:51 PM   #3
Pro

Rewards Points: 1,000

I'm not a calculus expert, but I don't think there is a formula for measuring surface area of a geodesic dome (a geodesic dome is not really a dome, but a polyhedron, so the link above is not much help).

From what I could tell after a google search, you have to know the surface area of the individual planes, and sum them. I.e. figure out how many shingles it will take to cover each triangle, multiply by number of triangles that size (may be that all of them are the same size, I can't remember), and then throw in some ungodly waste factor because it's all hips.

I don't know how the ones we did were estimated either, but I could ask if you're still around.
Old 01-11-2011, 07:16 PM   #4
old and tired

Rewards Points: 644

The surface area could be approximated by the surface area of a sphere minus an estimated percentage that is truncated at the bottom. Try and figure out you drip edge, there is a challenge. But seriously I would imagine there would also be a pretty high waste factor on the roof .
Old 01-11-2011, 07:37 PM   #5
Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Latone View Post