Roof Won't Stop Leaking For 17 Years :(

Old 06-13-2018, 03:15 PM   #1

Trade: Heavy Equipment Operator
Rewards Points: 8

Roof Won't Stop Leaking For 17 Years :(

Hi guys. I'm Jake. I'm a heavy equipment operator and understand a lot of the construction business, bur roofing I know very little.

We have an inlaw unit up in the mountains. Where we get 5-10ft of snow each winter. Built-in 1980's. It has been nothing but a money pit. We hire contractor friends each year to diagnose the roof leak, fix it, repair drywall, only to find it water damage again next spring.

How can I properly diagnose the leak? Happy to pay roofing professionals to fix it and will but want to really get to the root of this leak. It has been happening each winter since 2001. Think is time to crawl around myself and diagnose it.

It is unique, in that it has two sunroofs, and also a bridge that abuts the house on the top floor to provide access to the house from the
street. Last year, it was the sunroof leaking. They removed shingles and covered area with tar. This winter it leaked on the drywall of the bottom level kitchen (see photos). Top level was fine. I'm thinking it is the metal pan where the bridge walk way connects to the house, or a leak from the side shingles into the house. It is a skinny two story unit that was the previous homeowners architectural project. If the main roof leaked wouldn't the top floor have damage? My notes say it leaked in this same spot back in 2001 too!

I'd really appreciate some help and opinions on this. We have spent sooo much $ fixing and repairing this place that gets used very little for grandparents and guests.