Opinions On IB Roof Systems?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-16-2010, 11:33 PM   #1
Pro
 
232323's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling contractor
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MT
Posts: 175
Rewards Points: 154

Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


After decades of shingling, Im looking into the installation of flat/low slope roof membranes as another business option. Based on very limited experience with IB, I liked working with the product and it seemed very user friendly. For me, the product would be used on a small scale on residential/small commericial jobs and in conjuction with a shingle jobs. Any opinions out there from other contactors...pro and con...about IB or flat roof membranes in gereral?
232323 is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   
 

Old 09-17-2010, 06:38 AM   #2
Pro
 
jmiller's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,707
Rewards Points: 1,000

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


Con: Requires expensive seam welding equipment.

If you're starting in residential, look into a self adhered granulated membrane. No special tools and very little training needed.

jmiller is offline  
Old 09-17-2010, 09:04 PM   #3
Pro
 
RooferJim's Avatar
 
Trade: roofing
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 536
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


I like IB because its not a comodity roof like many others. you sell your custumers on there lifetime residential warranty. The welding tools will pay for themselves over time.
RooferJim is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to RooferJim For This Useful Post:
jmiller (09-22-2010)
Old 09-22-2010, 10:09 AM   #4
Pro
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing and Gutter Specialist
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8,573
Rewards Points: 2,000
Send a message via AIM to Grumpy

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


The welding equipment is not that costly. A couple of leister hand helds at $350 a pop. A generator is even optional since you can sometimes plug them into the building's power without blowing circuits. The robotic seam welders are way overkill for residential. Take more time to get it on and off the roof than it's worth on a 1,200 square foot roof. Then again if you are doing a commercial roof, they really really speed things up, but again aren't a must. We do a good ammount of TPO and other PVC.

Everything I have heard about IB is nothing but greatness. The only reason I do not use them is logistics. In my area they do not roof load, like all my other suppliers. With IB you buy direct.
Grumpy is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Grumpy For This Useful Post:
jmiller (09-22-2010)
Old 09-22-2010, 10:14 PM   #5
Roofing and Architectural
 
Renegade's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing and Architectural Metals
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Idaho
Posts: 619
Rewards Points: 646

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


Grumps, where the hell are you getting hand welders for $350? I'm calling you when I need more. Just an FYI, you can't get a system warranty with IB if you hand weld it.
Renegade is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 12:32 PM   #6
Pro
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing and Gutter Specialist
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8,573
Rewards Points: 2,000
Send a message via AIM to Grumpy

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


Renegade, Ebay. Infact I paid $225 for my personal leister with tip but no case including shipping about a year ago. I just called a local supplier for the Type S $394.25 new with case. Not that much off from my original statement of $350.

I did not know this about IB and that is ridiculious. You have to use a robot at your corners and penetrations too? Of coarse not, but what's the difference? Frick, seriously it'd take me longer to get the robot on the roof and out of the box than it'd take to weld the seam on a typical chicago flat roof. For us that'd be 3 seams 60' long and 1 seam 22'. Hardly warrants the use of a dog at all for 200' of seam. <grumble grumble>
Grumpy is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 06:43 PM   #7
APPLIED RIGHT
 
johnk's Avatar
 
Trade: roofing
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: B.C Canada
Posts: 383
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


90% of the time when we find a fault seam checking,it was a robot flaw.They definitely are not perfect.Not at all putting them down, as who wants to handweld 100's of sq's?
__________________
"A Roof is only as good as it is Applied"
johnk is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 09:36 PM   #8
Roofing and Architectural
 
Renegade's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing and Architectural Metals
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Idaho
Posts: 619
Rewards Points: 646

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


Wow, you are correct Grumps. Been a while since I've had to buy one.
Renegade is offline  
Old 09-25-2010, 01:05 PM   #9
Pro
 
RooferJim's Avatar
 
Trade: roofing
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 536
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


anything over 10' they want done with the robot. of course ends of seams and flashing has to be hand welded.

RooferJim
www.jbennetteroofing.com
RooferJim is offline  
Old 09-27-2010, 10:50 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Luv2Roof's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Central California
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


Making sure your robot welder is set correctly (speed and temp.) will eliminate almost all of your seam quality issues. But you HAVE to take destructive seam tests to make sure everything is as it appears. My guys will get lazy and stop taking seam tests or better yet, they will wait till they are done welding for the day and then take the cuts so they can show that they did the tests! Thats when we start to have seam weld issues with the welder.

By far my biggest problem with the robot welders are the starts and stops. Depending how the membrane is laid out and how its welded, sometimes there is a 4"-8" void left where you start or stop the machine. This gap then needs to be hand-welded shut. Missing/forgetting about these voids has caused a few problems over the years.

Regarding IB roof systems (I am not approved by them although they have asked that we be a approved contractor), they seem to be OK and not have any problems that I am aware of. I dont believe they make their own sheet (they buy it from another manufacturer and stamp their name on it) and I have always personally had a problem with membrane suppliers who are not willing to invest enough into things to make their own membrane.

If you are going to install residential jobs you will want to probably install IB or Duro Last as they will issue residential warranties. Many of the other single ply manufacturers dont warrant residential jobs.
Luv2Roof is offline  
Old 09-27-2010, 07:05 PM   #11
Pro
 
RooferJim's Avatar
 
Trade: roofing
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 536
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


IB is made by CGT "canadian general tower" to there own proprietary specs im told. I also heard it was made in germany early on in there history. They have roofs that our over 30 years old. I find the membrane very similar to sarnafil to work with. They are family owned and good to work with.

RooferJim
www.jbennetteroofing.com
RooferJim is offline  
Old 09-27-2010, 07:27 PM   #12
YUUUUP!
 
JWilliams's Avatar
 
Trade: Metal Roofing Mogul
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 1,012
Rewards Points: 828

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


can someone tell me since i have very little experience with single ply membranes and the very little i do have i was just being a laborer.. whats the difference between just a regular single ply and a fleece backed membrane?
JWilliams is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 11:17 AM   #13
Pro
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing and Gutter Specialist
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8,573
Rewards Points: 2,000
Send a message via AIM to Grumpy

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


Fleece back is great if installing the membrane over an existing asphalt or tar based roof. The fleece acts as a seperator so now harboard or polyester mat is required. Also it can be installed fully adhered using hot asphalt, which is good for the winter months.
Grumpy is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 12:31 PM   #14
YUUUUP!
 
JWilliams's Avatar
 
Trade: Metal Roofing Mogul
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 1,012
Rewards Points: 828

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


That's what I figured. Thanks for the answer Grumpy.
JWilliams is offline  
Old 09-29-2010, 11:29 PM   #15
Registered User
 
drroof's Avatar
 
Trade: roofing siding windows decks
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


i have installed well over 2,000.000 sq feet of ib membrane in the past few years . that is just on residential projects . our company has installed many diffrent single plys it is our oppinion that ib is far better than the others due to pre form flashings and vents drains etc .also not every so called roofer with a ladder and a hammer can buy and install the product . i have found the ib warranties to be the best regardless of how its welded . also you get the best tech support than any other manufacturer .you can not go wrong with ib single ply membrane ...................
drroof is offline  
Old 10-06-2010, 08:43 PM   #16
Pro
 
buildpinnacle's Avatar
 
Trade: Public Insurance Adjuster
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 595
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


Not just anyone can install a duro-last roof either.......Their requirements for certifying contractors is very similar to those of my college roomates for pulling fatties out of the bar.
__________________
Pinnacle Limited - Public Insurance Adjusters
http://pinnaclelimited.com
http://harrycane.com - An Amusement Park for Weather Freaks
buildpinnacle is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to buildpinnacle For This Useful Post:
JWilliams (10-07-2010)
Old 10-08-2010, 02:49 PM   #17
Roofer with a vision :)
 
coolflatroof's Avatar
 
Trade: Cool Flat & Metal Roofing in MA
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 156

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


I agree with the common opinion here - IB is the best. Not only it's a great product - you are also dealing with real people who care and will help you in needed. Once we started with IB, I haven't looked at any other single plies.

As for self-adhered granular - good luck with that when it starts leaking

One thing though - IB is very expensive, but you need to realize that you also get great marketing support, in terms of all kinds of samples and brochures, etc. Try to get those from dura-last or sarnafil. Also you don't have to buy insulation from IB, as is with sarnafil. Get it locally, get a crane (brandco crane costs me $25 and put your rolls on the roof with that crane.
__________________
Got roofing, eh?
My Google Plus
Roof Calculator
Roofing Contractors Community
coolflatroof is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to coolflatroof For This Useful Post:
jmiller (10-09-2010)
Old 10-09-2010, 07:34 AM   #18
Pro
 
jmiller's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,707
Rewards Points: 1,000

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


Quote:
Originally Posted by coolflatroof View Post
As for self-adhered granular - good luck with that when it starts leaking
The material doesn't cause the leak, bad roofing practices do. Does a chimney leak because shingles and metal flashing are inferior materials? They, like SA rubber, seem to work well for me, but considering how many I've redone, not so well for others.

I realize you can't put it on a Burger King, but SA is going to look much better in a large cricket that's visible from the ground, or on top of a rounded french dormer if they aren't doing copper, or any number of other scenarios we come across in residential roofing.

Had the OP not said he's looking for something to use in conjunction with shingle jobs I wouldn't have even mentioned it.
jmiller is offline  
Old 10-09-2010, 12:07 PM   #19
YUUUUP!
 
JWilliams's Avatar
 
Trade: Metal Roofing Mogul
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 1,012
Rewards Points: 828

Re: Opinions On IB Roof Systems?


i must agree with jmiller most of the problems ive seen with SA products is the installer not the product. a Self Adhered membrane should and could last the life of the shingle roof thats if it is installed CORRECTLY.

JWilliams is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flat Roof Ponding mxpwr7 Roofing 9 02-14-2010 11:59 AM
Frost on underside of roof sheathing ApexCS Remodeling 5 01-15-2009 12:55 PM
roof hacks.......OMG mikeybobo Roofing 27 01-04-2009 04:14 AM
Why Build ICF monsterconstruc Green Building 32 09-28-2008 10:48 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?