Leaky Roof Help

Old 02-16-2018, 04:07 PM   #1

Trade: Carpentry

Leaky Roof Help

Wife and I recently bought our first home. Had record rain in Missippi this summer and roof started leaking, water running down drywall along whole length of ridge beam. House was built in 69, stripped to studs after Katrina as well as addition put on in 2005, roof is 13 years old. No leaks in addition only in original house. Iím a finish carpenter and framer but I am not a pro roofer. House seemed fine and passed inspection 6mo ago at purchase. Have sealed every potentially bad spot Iíve found on roof, which is squishy and has visible sag between rafters in spots. Guy who did original inspection on the house was over this afternoon (I was at work), said roof is fine and water is being caused by condensation from AC which vents toward ceiling. Trying to figure out whatís going on here so I can decide best plan and how to fix. Please see pics, they are house, ridge where leak is happening (whole length, you can see the drywall starting to separate), ac vents and roof. Any advice is much appreciated!
Attached Thumbnails
Leaky roof help-20846fa1-df5b-41a1-aa40-5a1ad929d0f4_1518818755843.jpeg   Leaky roof help-7f91761b-b8e1-46a5-9507-e014a8aeacac_1518818796653.jpeg  
Attached Images

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 02-16-2018, 04:14 PM   #2
Pro

Rewards Points: 3,298

Re: Leaky Roof Help

That would be a lot of condensation

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Advertisement

Old 02-16-2018, 04:15 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: Remodeler
Rewards Points: 2,696

No ventilation??

Old 02-16-2018, 04:19 PM   #4
New Guy

Trade: sewer repair and replacement