Drone Inspection

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2017, 12:18 PM   #1
New Guy
 
elite-roofing's Avatar
 
Trade: roofing, remodel
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 64

Drone Inspection


Has anybody used a drone to do roof inspection and show the homeowner what is going on with their roof and why it needs repair or replacement? In my experience I believe it is faster and better to walk the roof and take some cell phone photos but I am wondering it this 'high tech' approach might impress a homeowner and help close a deal.

Jesse
elite-roofing is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 07-28-2017, 06:29 AM   #2
Pro
 
builditguy's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,573
Rewards Points: 3,196

Re: Drone Inspection


I've been asked about a drone inspection, by a couple homeowners. I told them I really needed to get a close up look and in some cases be able to get my hands on the roof to feel the shingle or sheeting.

I'm not saying it wouldn't work, just not for me. I feel a drone would give an overall view, not a up close view.

I do use pictures to show the homeowner.

Of course those days are mostly behind me.

Advertisement

builditguy is online now  
Old 08-03-2017, 11:36 AM   #3
Member
 
prolongroofcare's Avatar
 
Trade: roof cleaning
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: seattle wa
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 96

Re: Drone Inspection


I wouldn't use a drone for roof inspection. Really not going to let you examine it the way you need to in my opinion.

Tony
Pro-Long Roof Care
prolongroofcare is offline  
   
 
Old 09-12-2017, 01:26 AM   #4
Pro
 
madrina's Avatar
 
Trade: roofing and other envied trades
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: dallas
Posts: 2,348
Rewards Points: 878

Re: Drone Inspection


It sucks. Used it for a 3 story 24/12 copper roof. Boo. Photos sucked sun too bright pics not close enough
madrina is offline  
Old 09-12-2017, 07:31 AM   #5
Pro
 
KAP's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,631
Rewards Points: 20,340

Re: Drone Inspection


Would be great for gutter cleaning guys...
KAP is online now  
Old 09-12-2017, 06:33 PM   #6
New Guy
 
elite-roofing's Avatar
 
Trade: roofing, remodel
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 64

Re: Drone Inspection


Quote:
Originally Posted by KAP View Post
Would be great for gutter cleaning guys...
I think that is an interesting point. I wonder if it would really be worth it for them. I would think a gutter cleaner might use it to show a homeowner just how bad their gutters look and how much they need to be cleaned. But if you extrapolate that to roofing you might do the same with running the drone up to show crystal loss, nail pops, etc.

To me the biggest problems are 1) homeowners would be really ticked off at you for doing it and 2) I think there might be some FAA regulations preventing it. But you might have the kernel of an idea here, even for a roofer!

Jesse
Elite Roofing
elite-roofing is offline  
Old 09-12-2017, 06:45 PM   #7
water re-locater
 
NYgutterguy's Avatar
 
Trade: Gutter installer
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: orange/rockland ny NYC suburbs
Posts: 3,647
Rewards Points: 2,962

Re: Drone Inspection


Quote:
Originally Posted by elite-roofing View Post
I think that is an interesting point. I wonder if it would really be worth it for them. I would think a gutter cleaner might use it to show a homeowner just how bad their gutters look and how much they need to be cleaned. But if you extrapolate that to roofing you might do the same with running the drone up to show crystal loss, nail pops, etc.



To me the biggest problems are 1) homeowners would be really ticked off at you for doing it and 2) I think there might be some FAA regulations preventing it. But you might have the kernel of an idea here, even for a roofer!



Jesse

Elite Roofing


We don't do gutter cleaning at all but the only way to make money is get in and get the hell out as quick as possible. Spending one more second than needed showing chit in gutter for $75-100 is a waste. IMO


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
NYgutterguy is online now  
Old 09-12-2017, 08:30 PM   #8
Pro
 
WBailey1041's Avatar
 
Trade: Gutters
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 1,301

Re: Drone Inspection


Quote:
Originally Posted by NYgutterguy View Post
We don't do gutter cleaning at all but the only way to make money is get in and get the hell out as quick as possible. Spending one more second than needed showing chit in gutter for $75-100 is a waste. IMO


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Before I sold it and moved, my business was gutter cleaning. The truth is, it took 3 years to get enough good paying, regular customers to average $174 per house. I enjoyed a stellar reputation, great reviews and the first listing/page on google search. The phone rang so much I had a full time office worker, an office and small shop as well as 5 trucks doing 8-10 houses a day 6 days a week. Drones are a hobby of mine and I tried to make money with them. Wasn't possible.

Get in and out WITHOUT A CALLBACK is the name of the game. High paying customers like we had refused to pay if there was a single leaf in the gutter. Make a mess on the deck and not clean it up?... forget about it!

I sold it for a small fortune, bought a gutter machine and never looked back. Gutter cleaning with a drone is a good way to go bankrupt.
WBailey1041 is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to WBailey1041 For This Useful Post:
KAP (09-12-2017), NYgutterguy (09-12-2017)
Old 09-12-2017, 08:39 PM   #9
water re-locater
 
NYgutterguy's Avatar
 
Trade: Gutter installer
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: orange/rockland ny NYC suburbs
Posts: 3,647
Rewards Points: 2,962

Re: Drone Inspection


Quote:
Originally Posted by WBailey1041 View Post
Before I sold it and moved, my business was gutter cleaning. The truth is, it took 3 years to get enough good paying, regular customers to average $174 per house. I enjoyed a stellar reputation, great reviews and the first listing/page on google search. The phone rang so much I had a full time office worker, an office and small shop as well as 5 trucks doing 8-10 houses a day 6 days a week. Drones are a hobby of mine and I tried to make money with them. Wasn't possible.



Get in and out WITHOUT A CALLBACK is the name of the game. High paying customers like we had refused to pay if there was a single leaf in the gutter. Make a mess on the deck and not clean it up?... forget about it!



I sold it for a small fortune, bought a gutter machine and never looked back. Gutter cleaning with a drone is a good way to go bankrupt.


Sounds like you made some incredible money with your business. That's awesome. Never had the desire for that big of a business. Have always kept it simple and small.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
NYgutterguy is online now  
Old 09-13-2017, 01:11 AM   #10
GC/carpenter
 
Californiadecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 29,799
Rewards Points: 13,652

Re: Drone Inspection




Mike.
_______________
Californiadecks is offline  
Old 09-13-2017, 02:38 AM   #11
Registered User
 
A&T Inspector's Avatar
 
Trade: home inspection
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Cedar Hill, Tx
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 34

Re: Drone Inspection


That Seems pretty cool. I wonder how efficient it is though
__________________
A&T Home Inspections

Dallas Home Inspections
A&T Inspector is offline  
Old 09-13-2017, 09:05 AM   #12
Pro
 
KAP's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,631
Rewards Points: 20,340

Re: Drone Inspection


Quote:
Originally Posted by Californiadecks View Post
https://youtu.be/UmIJt8NUosI


Mike.
_______________
LOL... points for creativity, but that's a guy who normally keeps 'em clean on a regular basis for those leaves to move so easily... they ain't been there long...

Either that, or someone's doing some staging for youTube hits...

Advertisement


Last edited by KAP; 09-13-2017 at 09:36 AM.
KAP is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to KAP For This Useful Post:
Californiadecks (09-13-2017)


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A federal appeals court shoots down the FAA’s drone registry requirement Leo G Off Topic (Non Trade) 14 05-21-2017 09:48 PM
Construction drone bites the dust.... Robie Off Topic (Non Trade) 140 05-14-2016 09:21 PM
Lightning Protection - UL Inspection Fee? islandbuilder Electrical 9 06-19-2010 05:39 PM
Heat Exchanger Inspection Methods Symposium MechAcc HVAC 3 08-15-2009 01:10 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?