Coal Tar Pitch Vs Asphalt For Dead Flat Roof

Old 07-27-2017, 11:43 PM   #1

Trade: Project Manager
Rewards Points: 4

Coal Tar Pitch Vs Asphalt For Dead Flat Roof

I've read a few posts on this forum mentioning Tar and Gravel as still being a good choice for a durable roof vs the newer tech stuff like torch down and TPO. I currently have a 41 year old 4 ply dead flat CTP roof that's still holding its own, even though it has about 2" of water pressing down on it for 3 months of the year in winter. I've agonized over the different re-roofing choices, all of which require adding a 1/4" per foot slope, which is not a trivial undertaking. After reading an article from the Whole Building Design Guide (WBDG) explaining how CTP doesn't have solvents that dissolve in water like asphalt, I'm thinking why argue with proven success.

I'm just beginning the process of finding a contractor, there's still a few up here in Northern Idaho that do BUR, but I'm not getting a very comforting feeling. When I asked the first guy for CTP, he didn't even know what I was referring to while claiming he's been in business for 25 years and still does numerous BUR using type 2 and 3 kegs on dead flat roofs. I also contacted Durapax about local distributors of their CTP products, but no luck. So my question for you pros is this: how bad of a choice would 4 ply asphalt/gravel be for my situation? I don't expect 41 years, but would 25 to 30 be out of the question? I can still get the CTP shipped by Durapax, but I'm going to guess that just the shipping cost of 1300 SF of 4 ply is going to be prohibitive. Thanks!

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement