Rafters Sagging???

Old 11-02-2006, 12:20 AM   #1
Pro

Trade: Carpenter by trade, lead man for commercial GC...
Rewards Points: 500

Rafters Sagging???

Hi guys. I know there was a similar thread recently about collar ties and bowing out walls etc... It was interesting but, just went and looked at a job with a slightly different problem. A smaller house with a low pitch roof and when built they used no collar ties or rafter braces (and the 20' long 2x4 rafters are sagging). I know I have to add collar ties and some braces down to bearing walls but the customer wants the sag in the rafters remedied.

What would you suggest is the best way to aproach this. How would I go about getting rid of the sag in the rafters and then secure them so it won't be an issue in the future. Any input would be greatly appreciated!!!

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 11-02-2006, 05:01 AM   #2
Pro

Trade: manager of excavation division
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Rafters Sagging???

What size are the ceiling joist? Possibly depending on wall locations and size of c.joists build a knee wall under rafters mid span, after raising roof with temp. supports.

Advertisement

Old 11-02-2006, 07:47 AM   #3
Pro

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 580

Collar ties won't do a lot on a low pitch. The problem sounds like using rafters that will not carry the weight of the room....bad framing job in other words. You will have to brace up from bearing walls, or look for a more costly option, like sistering 2X6's or 8's, which just adds more weight.

Insulated Concrete Homes / ICF's
My Facebook Page

Old 11-02-2006, 08:36 PM   #4
Pro