Price Per Square Foot?

Old 03-21-2009, 02:24 AM   #1

Trade: Framer from head to toe!!!
Rewards Points: 25

Price Per Square Foot?

Alright I know this is a popular subject around here but its something that I am having a lot of trouble with. Every job I bid I feel I was either to low or to high. Every job I get when completed I feel I bid too low. I am new to the business side of this business and I don't want to be that guy that under cuts everyone else. I sure as hell don't want to go back to working for someone else. So far every job I have completed has gone off without a hitch and all my customers are very happy with my work. Almost too happy. Almost like they bought a new car at used car price happy.

I looked into estimator programs just to get me in the ball park. I can hone my skills later. Right now I am looking just to be competitive. Has any body used these types of programs? Any recommendations for a good program or other tool to help get me started? Any info would help. I am really struggling in this dept.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 03-21-2009, 08:17 AM   #2
strat hd

Trade: framing contractor , remodeler , GC occasionally
Rewards Points: 1,000

Re: Price Per Square Foot?

If your a framer should'nt you know what the going rate is in your area ?
No program is going to tell you that.

Last edited by strathd; 03-21-2009 at 08:20 AM.
Old 03-21-2009, 08:18 AM   #3
The Duke

Trade: Cabinet Maker
Rewards Points: 2,036

It's simple. Raise your prices until they say no. Then negotiate.