Framing A Door For A Semi Trailer

Old 09-16-2006, 08:38 AM   #1

Trade: General Contractor -- Mostly roofing
Rewards Points: 10

Framing A Door For A Semi Trailer

Ok, I work for a general contractor who mostly does roofing but we do some framing too from time to time so I have limited framing experience. A friend asked me if I would help frame a door in his semi trailer. It's not prehung or anything and it doesn't have to be pretty, just functional.

I have an idea of what I want to do but I would like some imput. I'm going to make a standard door frame with a header but I'm wondering how I should tie it into the trailer. The trailer has aluminum studs spaced 2 ft apart at the most. Should I bolt the outside of the door frame to the studs? This is new to me any input would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 09-16-2006, 08:55 AM   #2
Interior Remodeling

Trade: Interior Remodeling
Rewards Points: 546

Re: Framing A Door For A Semi Trailer

Are you putting it on the side of the trailer? Like an entry door? Is the trailer stationary or transported alot?

Old 09-16-2006, 08:58 AM   #3

Trade: General Contractor -- Mostly roofing
Rewards Points: 10

yes it'll be on the side, somewhere near the front. and it won't be moved often. he's going to load it with water tanks and use it for bathroom/sewer for oilrig sites
Old 09-16-2006, 09:13 AM   #4
Pro

Trade: Project Manager/Licensed Remodeler
Rewards Points: 500

I'd suggest using a door suited for RV's.

Look through here for ideas-

RV doors
Old 09-16-2006, 09:44 AM   #5
Interior Remodeling