Bird's Mouth/ Heel Cuts In Stick Built Roof Framing

Old 03-02-2008, 09:01 PM   #1
The ONLY way is DEAD_ON!

Trade: Custom Finish/Carpenter
Rewards Points: 75
Question

Bird's Mouth/ Heel Cuts In Stick Built Roof Framing

I was wondering how some of you guys are doing this and would like some "opinions" about this.

My main questions concerns the width of the level cut when you are framing with different wall thicknesses (eg. 2x4 top plate, 2x6 top, etc.)

I know this is rather rudimentary, but I as I have limited roof framing experience, I would like to be clearer on this subject, as it has come up on a job, and I didn't have "all" the answers.

So, I know your plumb cut is going to be 1-1/2" up. The argument is that should the heel cut be 3-1/2" at all times ( because of the way teh speed square is designed) on, say a 2x6 wall, or should it be cut at 5-1/2" long (as I think) to allow full bearing on the wall?

OK, guy's, let 'er rip, as I am sure I will get some nasty comments on this..

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 03-02-2008, 10:22 PM   #2
The Duke

Trade: Cabinet Maker
Rewards Points: 2,036

Re: Bird's Mouth/ Heel Cuts In Stick Built Roof Framing

It will depend on many things, but as a rule of thumb, the heel starts at the inside of the framing wall. It doesn't HAVE to be, but that will be the general consensus that it should for proper framing.

Then you have instances where you will need to match the heel height of other roofs, most notably trusses, and if you're good enough, you know how to compensate the height of a wall to allow your full bearing to the inside of the wall.