What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen? - Finish Carpentry - Contractor Talk

What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2017, 10:08 AM   #1
Pro
 
tipitop's Avatar
 
Trade: carpenter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,154
Rewards Points: 3,543

What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


Installed kitchen where 2 walls was out of square. At another side knee wall is square with main wall. Now of course 45' cut of counter tops do not match and I need cut it again at different angle (45 cut by menards). What is here opinion about out of square kitchens, is it that OK.
Edit, I installed knee wall and I did level up other wall with strips but didn't square it with main wall. Obviously it would not be acceptable if floor would go "parallel" with out of square wall but it is not case as floor but in that wall.
Attached Thumbnails
What is opinion about out of square kitchen?-20171208_115514-1-.jpg   What is opinion about out of square kitchen?-20171208_115502-1-.jpg   What is opinion about out of square kitchen?-20171208_115533-1-.jpg  

Last edited by tipitop; 12-10-2017 at 10:15 AM.
tipitop is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-10-2017, 10:19 AM   #2
Capra aegagrus

 
Tinstaafl's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 22,414
Rewards Points: 2,625

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


My opinion:

Don't mess up that cut; you have no extra material to spare.

Advertisement

Tinstaafl is offline  
Old 12-10-2017, 10:23 AM   #3
Pro
 
tipitop's Avatar
 
Trade: carpenter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,154
Rewards Points: 3,543

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


^^^ Actually both countertops are to long around 1". It is visible in 3 photo that countertop is to long by refrigerator. I ordered so because I knew will have to cut it again. That two that go over knee wall I ordered right length.
tipitop is offline  
   
 
Old 12-10-2017, 10:24 AM   #4
Bubble stick operator
 
Defenestrate's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: California
Posts: 491
Rewards Points: 10

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


Get fancy with your re-cuts if you want, but here's what I'd do:

Get more of that separate backsplash (the stuff on the right of the range). Rip the backsplash off the postformed to the left. Chew into the drywall in the corner to be able to stuff the corner of the counter in deeper (or belt sand the corner off). Stick the backsplash on and get gone.

Edit: just read that it's too long at the fridge... you might as well fix the miter, then.

Last edited by Defenestrate; 12-10-2017 at 10:29 AM.
Defenestrate is offline  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Defenestrate For This Useful Post:
Fouthgeneration (12-13-2017), MarkJames (12-10-2017), Metro M & L (01-07-2018)
Old 12-10-2017, 10:33 AM   #5
Pro
 
tipitop's Avatar
 
Trade: carpenter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,154
Rewards Points: 3,543

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


^^^ I cut countertops with back splash, angle or square no matter, in this way - put yellow tape at cut than attach level with clamps as guide. Usually did that from top but recently do cutting from back. However cutting of back splash have to be finished with 10" chop saw as it do not fit under my 8 1/2" and skill saw can not get all of it. Open to hear about better methods. Must say my method work like brease. Cut probably up to 100 square or angled cuts of countertops and never run in trouble.
Generally my idea was it is easier to do 2 countertop cuts then square wall.
tipitop is offline  
Old 12-10-2017, 10:55 AM   #6
Pro
 
MarkJames's Avatar
 
Trade: Handyman Services
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 7,323
Rewards Points: 14,011

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


I didn't realize folks cut off the 45 on that stuff. I also would belt sand the back of the corner, and do some drywall embedding. Then backer rod + caulk, and bring the paint down onto the caulk.
MarkJames is offline  
Old 12-10-2017, 11:45 AM   #7
Pro
 
Peter_C's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Beautification
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,912
Rewards Points: 2,262

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


Make a template out of 3" plastic ABS strips (My preference over wood as it can be glued up solid in a matter of minutes, and doesn't move once set. Plus the glue is squirted in without moving the templates after setting them perfectly in place.), then cut/sand the counter tops to the template. The back splash shown will cover everything else.

Have you ever watched a stone company make templates for their counter tops? Although I really didn't read this article it covers the basics.
http://www.proconstructionguide.com/...rtop-template/

Can you really trust the cuts at Menards? My luck with hardware store cuts is not good.
Peter_C is offline  
Old 12-10-2017, 12:10 PM   #8
Pro
 
VinylHanger's Avatar
 
Trade: I'll do that for 500 bucks.
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,758
Rewards Points: 8,192

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


This is why there are countertop guys.

Let the guys who do what they do do.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
__________________
Your emergency does not constitute a problem with my Constitution.
VinylHanger is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to VinylHanger For This Useful Post:
B.D.R. (01-03-2018), TNTSERVICES (12-11-2017)
Old 12-10-2017, 12:26 PM   #9
Pro
 
kirkdc's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling (mostly kitch/bath)
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Cripple Creek. CO
Posts: 661
Rewards Points: 2,796

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


Yep, agree with the others.

Heck I'd never even think about doing countertop work without making a accurate template (or at least taking some measurements and checking for square.

Years back, I saw a granite company using drywall shims and a glue gun to make their templates. It went quick and they easily folded it up to take it back to the shop.

"It's rare to find square."

You have extra wiggle room to re-cut it and/or hide it with backsplash or grout(or both)

I once measured up a kitchen for new countertops and the walls were doing an inward wave between each stud. A good 3/4" to 1." Out of square corners is all too common.

You're a carpenter ?

Last edited by kirkdc; 12-10-2017 at 12:39 PM.
kirkdc is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kirkdc For This Useful Post:
Defenestrate (12-10-2017), SmallTownGuy (12-10-2017)
Old 12-10-2017, 12:32 PM   #10
Pro
 
avenge's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Not here
Posts: 2,712
Rewards Points: 3,140

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


How often do you run into perfectly square corners? I quit doing counter tops years ago when I did I cut my own.
avenge is offline  
Old 12-10-2017, 12:38 PM   #11
Pro
 
rrk's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: new jersey
Posts: 4,879
Rewards Points: 2,730

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


I that a post formed top?
The way I have done it in the past is hold a spacer the width of the gap centered over the seam.
Hot melt a piece of hardwood to the top butted against the spacer. Remove the spacer.
The area left is what needs to be cut. Remove tops and use a router with a guide bit and cut from the back side with the bearing against the hardwood. Use a belt sander for the back splash.
I does work but takes a while

Just make sure the guides stay in place, after removing the tops clamps can be used to hold them in place
rrk is online now  
Old 12-10-2017, 02:44 PM   #12
Pro
 
Stilla's Avatar
 
Trade: Finish carpentry
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 598

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


The only thing square these days is the paper the plan is drawn on.
Stilla is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Stilla For This Useful Post:
m2akita (01-01-2018)
Old 12-10-2017, 03:05 PM   #13
Pro
 
TimberlineMD's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling Contractor
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 738

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


Put the miter together as perfectly as you can.

Set counter top onto cabinets and push til the backsplash touches the back of the wall.

Adjust top so you see where the humps in the wall are.

Mark the wall with a sharp pencil at the same hieght as the top of the splash.

You can remove drywall where the top splash touchs wall up to a 1/2" and embed the splash into the wall.

You can remove up to 1/2" of the top of the splash by scribing it to the wall.

Your limitations will be when the front top nosing touches the face frame of the cabinets and will not let you push the top back any further.
__________________
It's easy to have a business that is busy.. it's harder to have a business that makes a profit
TimberlineMD is offline  
Old 12-10-2017, 04:00 PM   #14
Pro
 
Big Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor and Grunt
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,304
Rewards Points: 4,694

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


This belongs on diychatroom.
Big Johnson is offline  
Old 12-10-2017, 04:32 PM   #15
Pro
 
rrk's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: new jersey
Posts: 4,879
Rewards Points: 2,730

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Johnson View Post
This belongs on diychatroom.
No, Tipi is good
rrk is online now  
Old 12-10-2017, 04:36 PM   #16
Pro
 
rrk's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: new jersey
Posts: 4,879
Rewards Points: 2,730

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TimberlineMD View Post
Put the miter together as perfectly as you can.

Set counter top onto cabinets and push til the backsplash touches the back of the wall.

Adjust top so you see where the humps in the wall are.

Mark the wall with a sharp pencil at the same hieght as the top of the splash.

You can remove drywall where the top splash touchs wall up to a 1/2" and embed the splash into the wall.

You can remove up to 1/2" of the top of the splash by scribing it to the wall.

Your limitations will be when the front top nosing touches the face frame of the cabinets and will not let you push the top back any further.
It may work, that left side is at least 1" out of square judging by the gap. I would not touch the right side because that would bring the end out really far
rrk is online now  
Old 12-10-2017, 04:40 PM   #17
Pro
 
Big Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor and Grunt
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,304
Rewards Points: 4,694

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrk View Post
No, Tipi is good
Ok..

Well my advice is: never buy countertops with attached backsplash. Never ever.
Big Johnson is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Big Johnson For This Useful Post:
tipitop (12-23-2017)
Old 12-10-2017, 05:08 PM   #18
Pro
 
Jay hole's Avatar
 
Trade: General contractor
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 660
Rewards Points: 1,369

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


Hey do me a favor and finish taking the plastic off the microwave!!!! The crown molding looks good btw!
Jay hole is offline  
Old 12-10-2017, 06:52 PM   #19
Pro
 
rrk's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: new jersey
Posts: 4,879
Rewards Points: 2,730

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Johnson View Post
Ok..

Well my advice is: never buy countertops with attached backsplash. Never ever.
How else do you by post formed tops ?
rrk is online now  
Old 12-10-2017, 07:03 PM   #20
John the Builder
 
SmallTownGuy's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter/Builder
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 13,229
Rewards Points: 1,714

Re: What Is Opinion About Out Of Square Kitchen?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrk View Post
No, Tipi is good
These the brand you wear?
Attached Thumbnails
What is opinion about out of square kitchen?-283037_ts.jpg  

Advertisement

__________________
All my Life loving Hippie friends turned into soul-sucking Conservatives - or died. Same difference.
"Mornin' ladies, my goodness don't you look happy. Must be cuttin' somebody up pretty good." - Andy Griffiths
SmallTownGuy is online now  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your help is needed! Inventory work track checklist? ElectricianC-10 Electrical 19 10-26-2017 04:07 AM
Recommend a double square for tool belt Spencer Finish Carpentry 20 04-29-2016 10:11 AM
Quartz kitchen countertops redwood Kitchens & Baths 7 07-21-2013 08:25 PM
Poll - Do you give free Estimates? metroconstruct General Discussion 39 06-12-2013 11:18 PM
Pricing by the sq. ft./lin. ft./unit Seven-Delta-FortyOne Business 13 02-09-2012 12:19 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?