Building Formica Countertops.

Old 04-05-2007, 09:09 PM   #1
AbriamBarkerCarpentry

Trade: Carpenter
Rewards Points: 150

Building Formica Countertops.

I need to build some formica countertops. I've never done this before.

I see that particle board is the normal thing to use.

In my mind 3/4 inch. plywood glued together with perpendicular grain runs will be stronger.

Is it that the formica glue adheres better to particle board than CDX plywood?

Please don't suggest useing MDF.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 04-05-2007, 09:22 PM   #2
Carpenter/fencing

Trade: Carpenter/Fence contractor
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Building Formica Countertops.

Particle board is fine,but if the top is in a kitchen or bath the build up underneath should be plywood. Particle board build up don't hold up well with water dripping off of it all the time.Plywood is also fine for a top it just drives up the cost of materials.As far as contact cement go's it will stick fine to either wood you choose.

Old 04-05-2007, 10:26 PM   #3
Ruler of the Universe

Trade: finish carpenter
Rewards Points: 25

I don't recommend cdx or a/c plywood because it has a lot of voids.
The best stuff is what they sell at the laminate supply. Use 2 or 3 inch rips glued and screwed underneath for your build up. Keep the edge perfectly flush.

What are your concerns with strength?
The particle board is pretty flexible and could sag unsupported on a run of around 4 feet or more.

The best glue for laminate is "Sta-Put". Also at the laminate supply.