Meeting With A Builder In The AM, Any Tips?

Old 08-27-2008, 05:55 PM   #1
Pro

Trade: Outdoor D/B
Rewards Points: 1,028

Meeting With A Builder In The AM, Any Tips?

I have a meeting tommorrow with a custom home builder. He wraps up all the landscaping with the purchase of the homes. I have never worked for a builder before.

I know the most important thing to emphasis is how I plan to make him more money. I have hands down better quality work then his current guy. Its not even questionable.

I think the main thing I need to sell him on is how we can design several different plans for each home to show homeowners whats avaible out there. Then list upgrades. I think I need to make it the same process as designing a house. Pavers x amount, blue stone +xx, marble +xx. If the homeowner knows all the choices avaible I am sure they will spend more money. These are 1-3million dollar homes.

Any advice?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 08-27-2008, 06:25 PM   #2
I'm a Mac

Trade: ICF Construction
Rewards Points: 4,254

Re: Meeting With A Builder In The AM, Any Tips?

One thing to keep in mind is you will not be doing the caliber of work you have been promoting on here that you have done in the past, it almost non existant, what you specialize in is people who now live in the house and know what they want, builders don't provide that to their clients.

FWIW, keep doing what you are doing and be more satisfied, you are doing an upper end quality finished product.

Advertisement

Old 08-27-2008, 06:30 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: Roofing Contractor
Rewards Points: 2,054