Homestars Canada Contractors Who Pay Can Write There Own Reviews.

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-15-2015, 11:52 PM   #1
Pro
 
bbgcarpentry's Avatar
 
Trade: carpenter
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 543
Rewards Points: 500

Homestars Canada Contractors Who Pay Can Write There Own Reviews.


If you pay it seems now you write what they call a asisted review contractor writes it it get ok d by client and homestars then publish it.

Wrong?

AND IM A HOMESTARS GUY WHO LOVED THE SITE

👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇
bbgcarpentry is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 10-17-2015, 10:36 AM   #2
Painting Contractor
 
George Z's Avatar
 
Trade: Painting Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,880
Rewards Points: 1,138

Re: Homestars Canada Contractors Who Pay Can Write There Own Reviews.


That was my point a few months ago.
That`s exactly what makes Homestars reviews suspect.
The top reviewed companies are mostly paying advertisers, because only paying contractors are allowed to do this.
Non paying contractors can`t!
Also I know Homestar Contractors that have fake reviews.
When a contractor has over 500 reviews averaging 9.98 of 10, this is a joke.
Contractors must be much better than figure skaters in the Olympics.

Advertisement

__________________
My Painter Made me this Video

Last edited by George Z; 10-17-2015 at 10:43 AM.
George Z is offline  
Old 07-08-2017, 12:57 AM   #3
Registered User
 
debias's Avatar
 
Trade: Painter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 12

Re: Homestars Canada Contractors Who Pay Can Write There Own Reviews.


Not anymore, they scraped the assisted review. I have been a paid advertiser since 2012 and I would cancel if i wasnt worried I would lose my reviews. They have an app they are trying to force us to use now, so that they can sell the leads to other companies if we dont respond right away. Instead of the assisted review, homestars now sends a text to the client that they write their review from.

Anyway, the assisted reviews were under our dashboard and what we were supposed to do, is enter the client info and write our own review. It would then go to the homeowner who had the option to approve it, edit it or decline it. I never used it because I didnt like the idea of it and I was glad I didnt, because a year after starting it, homestars decided to add a graphic that said "assisted review" and one of my competitors only had assisted reviews which looks horrible on his profile page.

Anyway, Homestars changes their minds as often as underwear and they have done a few retroactive things that have contractors shaking their heads. Like Best of Homestars was always one company that had the most reviews the year before, then they changed that to the top three companies and then last year, they selected the Best of 2017, based on our 2016 rating. Then, LMAO, they told us that all our prior awards will be changed to the year prior. So if you won in 2012, it was changed to 2011 and you automatically won 2016 (wtf?). They do bring clients to you, but contractors are treated like crap by them, until you threaten to cancel. Homestars is all about the money and I expect things to get worse now that HomeAdviser bought them. I know of and have reported companies on Homestars that are "cash" companies and they never do anything about it if its a paid advertiser.

Last edited by debias; 07-08-2017 at 01:00 AM.
debias is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to get rid of bad reviews, instantly. pcplumber Business 58 11-24-2014 12:20 AM
Retirement Planning for Contractors MattK Business 0 03-18-2013 11:34 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?