Branding, Marketing, Advertising, And Salesmanship

Old 04-16-2009, 08:34 AM   #1
Lack Of All Trades

Trade: Construction & Home Improvement Services
Rewards Points: 500
Lightbulb

Branding, Marketing, Advertising, And Salesmanship

First and foremost, I am not a expert on this subject; however, these are a few of the things that have I have observed.

Branding--the look you want the customer to remember your biz by. First, your logo-should be as simple as possible, preferably black and white. To brand can also be the color of your overall company look. Example-HO says to his wife, "Why don't you call the company with the little house thingy on their flyer"--you've just succeeded in branding your biz. It is the immediate picture someone can relate to your biz without even knowing your company name.

*p.s.-the best posters on this forum (in my mind) have branded themselves already, because I follow the stuff that they post and I am always searching for their threads. Well, what do you see when reading their threads?--Their avatar and related info at the upper left corner of the post.

Marketing. The total act of activities related to getting customers to know your company, call your company, and hire your company. After all, you could be the best company at what you do but if a prospect can't find this out, what good will it do you?

Advertising. The actual physical stuff you pass out, mail, or send to potential customers. Could also be physical acts created to get customers.

Salesmanship. What you do as a company representative to get your company business when meeting with potential prospects. To me, this is a very important step that should be rehearsed over and over.

I could go longer on the latter 2, but now I got to go to work. What are your thoughts?