Top Plates Not At Same Height?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2017, 12:45 PM   #1
Goin' Down in Flames....
 
Seven-Delta-FortyOne's Avatar
 
Trade: Highwayman
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere Between Heaven And Hell
Posts: 2,707
Rewards Points: 1,414

Top Plates Not At Same Height?


I'm putting an addition on a house. The addition is 6 feet wider than the original. Roof slope is 4:12.

So this puts the new roof at just 12" higher than the existing, and since it has 2x12 rafter tails, that's not gonna work.

I'm using trusses, with a raised heel, so that I can scab on 2x12 tails. I can raise the truss an extra foot, and/or raise the ceiling height a foot, (or whatever amount), but this now puts the top plates or eaves at different heights.

How is this gonna look? I can't seem to find what I'm looking for on Google Images.



Delta
__________________
I have an Edifice Complex.
Seven-Delta-FortyOne is online now  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 06-13-2017, 05:24 PM   #2
Eater of sins.
 
ScipioAfricanus's Avatar
 
Trade: Designer/Drafter Extraordinaire
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Orange County, CA.
Posts: 3,600
Rewards Points: 806

Re: Top Plates Not At Same Height?


That is the kind of thing I get paid to show and to figure out.

Andy.

Advertisement

ScipioAfricanus is online now  
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to ScipioAfricanus For This Useful Post:
72chevy4x4 (06-13-2017), greg24k (06-15-2017), Jaws (06-15-2017), NJGC (06-13-2017), Rio (06-13-2017), SmallTownGuy (06-13-2017)
Old 06-13-2017, 05:40 PM   #3
Goin' Down in Flames....
 
Seven-Delta-FortyOne's Avatar
 
Trade: Highwayman
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere Between Heaven And Hell
Posts: 2,707
Rewards Points: 1,414

Re: Top Plates Not At Same Height?


I actually hired a draftsman/designer for this project. He told me "just raise it up, it won't be noticeable".

May I PM you? I had actually thought about asking you about this project, but I didn't know if you do stuff outside your area.



Delta
__________________
I have an Edifice Complex.
Seven-Delta-FortyOne is online now  
   
 
Old 06-13-2017, 09:25 PM   #4
Eater of sins.
 
ScipioAfricanus's Avatar
 
Trade: Designer/Drafter Extraordinaire
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Orange County, CA.
Posts: 3,600
Rewards Points: 806

Re: Top Plates Not At Same Height?


Oh crap, I do stuff all over the US of A.

PM anytime.

Andy.
ScipioAfricanus is online now  
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to ScipioAfricanus For This Useful Post:
bmcquin (06-13-2017), greg24k (06-15-2017), NJGC (06-13-2017), Seven-Delta-FortyOne (06-13-2017)
Old 06-14-2017, 09:46 PM   #5
Pro
 
Fouthgeneration's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mid west
Posts: 1,460
Rewards Points: 5,131

Re: Top Plates Not At Same Height?


If you "turn" the ridge line 90 degrees, is the truss span shorter, thus lower.......?

Style wise, line up the the soffits and eaves, and sort the height difference out on the roof line, unless there is some sort of height limit in the local Zoning. IMO

If the energy heel and bird mouthed 2 x 12 rafters are the same dimension, shouldn't the soffit come together? If one wall is in line with the existing building, the roof peak will be 3 foot away from the old peak... and About 24" above the "existing" roof at the new Peak.... needing siding and a likely a half width soffit? Or you could frame up a 6' wide hip roof between the addition's roof and the old roof.(if the 6' offset is all to one side of the old house).

A few plan and elevation views would be worth a 1000 words.


You could "old school" the wall ceiling and roof framing with a ledger board to carry the ceiling joists, entirely separate from the roof framing/truss system that would bear on the top plate(s) freeing the stud length to fit any architectural requirement of alignment with existing framing... A variation on western framing...

Last edited by Fouthgeneration; 06-14-2017 at 10:19 PM.
Fouthgeneration is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Fouthgeneration For This Useful Post:
Rio (06-15-2017)
Old 06-15-2017, 12:32 PM   #6
Goin' Down in Flames....
 
Seven-Delta-FortyOne's Avatar
 
Trade: Highwayman
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere Between Heaven And Hell
Posts: 2,707
Rewards Points: 1,414

Re: Top Plates Not At Same Height?


Here are some screen shots of the plans.

The blank section is the existing. It is 20 x 36 feet. The ridge line is down the center of the existing and the addition. If that makes sense. I can't figure out how to draw a line on it. The addition is 42' x 26'.
Attached Thumbnails
Top Plates Not At Same Height?-screen-shot-2017-06-15-8.57.01-am.png   Top Plates Not At Same Height?-screen-shot-2017-06-15-8.57.46-am.png   Top Plates Not At Same Height?-screen-shot-2017-06-15-8.58.31-am.png  
__________________
I have an Edifice Complex.
Seven-Delta-FortyOne is online now  
Old 06-15-2017, 12:40 PM   #7
Pro
 
MarkJames's Avatar
 
Trade: Handyman Services
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 6,423
Rewards Points: 9,447

Re: Top Plates Not At Same Height?


Can you offset the addition (and ridge)?
MarkJames is offline  
Old 06-15-2017, 05:01 PM   #8
Eater of sins.
 
ScipioAfricanus's Avatar
 
Trade: Designer/Drafter Extraordinaire
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Orange County, CA.
Posts: 3,600
Rewards Points: 806

Re: Top Plates Not At Same Height?


Would it not look like this then?

If it will then I am not sure what the problem would be.

It seems that the plates would be at the same height, no worries.

I must be missing something though, what is it?

I think it will look fine this way and I doubt that rebuilding the whole roof system is in the budget.

Andy.
Attached Thumbnails
Top Plates Not At Same Height?-rear-view-2.jpg   Top Plates Not At Same Height?-rear-view.jpg  
ScipioAfricanus is online now  
Old 06-15-2017, 08:24 PM   #9
Goin' Down in Flames....
 
Seven-Delta-FortyOne's Avatar
 
Trade: Highwayman
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere Between Heaven And Hell
Posts: 2,707
Rewards Points: 1,414

Re: Top Plates Not At Same Height?


Yes, that's exactly how it is.

My only issue is because of the dimensions. It has 2x12 tails, and the new roof will only be 12 inches above the existing. This puts the new fascia basically sitting on the existing roof. A bitch to roof and flash.

However, if I raise it another foot, so I now have some clearance, then my plates don't line up.

I'd also thought about not doing an overhang on the transition side, but that has it's own whole set of issues.



Delta
__________________
I have an Edifice Complex.
Seven-Delta-FortyOne is online now  
Old 06-15-2017, 08:35 PM   #10
Eater of sins.
 
ScipioAfricanus's Avatar
 
Trade: Designer/Drafter Extraordinaire
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Orange County, CA.
Posts: 3,600
Rewards Points: 806

Re: Top Plates Not At Same Height?


Oh, I get it now.

Does it seem logical that even if you had a say 18" gable overhang on the new roof over the old that you would need to flash the roof to wall in the same manner as if there was no overhanging gable?

I might think about a snub gable detail on that side then.

I will put it together and post.

Andy.
ScipioAfricanus is online now  
Old 06-15-2017, 08:39 PM   #11
Goin' Down in Flames....
 
Seven-Delta-FortyOne's Avatar
 
Trade: Highwayman
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere Between Heaven And Hell
Posts: 2,707
Rewards Points: 1,414

Re: Top Plates Not At Same Height?


I dunno. With that fascia sitting on the shingles, I guess not much is gonna get in there.

I could try to convince them to re-roof the existing now, to save trouble later on, 'cause a re-roof on that is gonna suck.

In your opinion, would those plates not lining up be very noticeable, if I just raised it an extra foot? Or would that stick out?



Delta
__________________
I have an Edifice Complex.
Seven-Delta-FortyOne is online now  
Old 06-15-2017, 08:45 PM   #12
Eater of sins.
 
ScipioAfricanus's Avatar
 
Trade: Designer/Drafter Extraordinaire
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Orange County, CA.
Posts: 3,600
Rewards Points: 806

Re: Top Plates Not At Same Height?


On second thought, what if you were to flash the new roof fascia board to the old roof?
Rip the new fascia board to about 10.5", then install a simple "L" flashing under the fascia and at least 6" under the old roof material. Better yet, maybe step flashing?
Then fill in the two "ends" of the old roof under the new eaves so birds don't nest in there?
That would keep the look of the plans and keep out any weather.

Andy.
ScipioAfricanus is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to ScipioAfricanus For This Useful Post:
Seven-Delta-FortyOne (06-15-2017)
Old 06-15-2017, 08:51 PM   #13
Goin' Down in Flames....
 
Seven-Delta-FortyOne's Avatar
 
Trade: Highwayman
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere Between Heaven And Hell
Posts: 2,707
Rewards Points: 1,414

Re: Top Plates Not At Same Height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ScipioAfricanus View Post
On second thought, what if you were to flash the new roof fascia board to the old roof?
Rip the new fascia board to about 10.5", then install a simple "L" flashing under the fascia and at least 6" under the old roof material. Better yet, maybe step flashing?
Then fill in the two "ends" of the old roof under the new eaves so birds don't nest in there?
That would keep the look of the plans and keep out any weather.

Andy.
That's a thought.

And then just nail a frieze block in the overhang section.


Delta
__________________
I have an Edifice Complex.
Seven-Delta-FortyOne is online now  
Old 06-15-2017, 09:32 PM   #14
Pro
 
hammer7896's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 307
Rewards Points: 100

Re: Top Plates Not At Same Height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ScipioAfricanus View Post
On second thought, what if you were to flash the new roof fascia board to the old roof?
Rip the new fascia board to about 10.5", then install a simple "L" flashing under the fascia and at least 6" under the old roof material. Better yet, maybe step flashing?
Then fill in the two "ends" of the old roof under the new eaves so birds don't nest in there?
That would keep the look of the plans and keep out any weather.

Andy.


We did a room like that a few years ago. Looks nice.


Mike

Advertisement

hammer7896 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to hammer7896 For This Useful Post:
Seven-Delta-FortyOne (06-15-2017)


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grouting under base plates Abode General Discussion 25 09-14-2015 09:12 PM
License Plates wallmaxx Off Topic (Non Trade) 18 04-20-2015 04:15 PM
Gusset Plates baerconstructio General Discussion 7 03-23-2013 04:44 PM
First time ZackyBundles Drywall Picture Post 155 02-07-2013 08:11 PM
Height x width, or width x height? webopolis General Discussion 31 10-23-2008 07:53 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?