Deck Drawings

Old 08-18-2017, 02:16 PM   #1

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 70

Deck Drawings

I am a General Contractor here in Nevada City, California which is located in the Sierra Mountains. I work alone without employees and usually do smaller types of remodel jobs and do work on repairing log homes from time to time. I have a website here if you would like to see some of the things I have done in the Past. My jobs do not usually involve any type of drawings, but from time to time it is required for a permit here in Nevada County. I have hand drawn what I needed in the past which was extremely time consuming, since I am self taught it did take a lot of my time. I use the Adobe InDesign program to make flyers and forms for my wife who is a real estate agent and used Photoshop, Sketchup and Decks.com. I was looking at smartdraw, but needed something that is user friendly and that I could use to submit drawings such as for the deck I am bidding on. I am not the best with using a program and get frustrated at times, but wondering what someone would suggest for a basic program that can get me drawings that I could submit to my Building Dept. I also am looking to have a pro do it for me as I am not sure I have the time or patience to learn the program. Smartdraw and Sketchup at times were confusing and not sure they would be accepted by my county.

Thanks and sorry if this subject was brought up before, I am trying to search for past posts.

Thanks.
Scott

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 08-18-2017, 03:06 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Executor of special operations
Rewards Points: 626

Re: Deck Drawings