Any Review Of CAD Options?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2018, 03:58 AM   #21
Registered User
 
Nautilus's Avatar
 
Trade: Design (CAD)
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Any Review Of CAD Options?


For indoor stuff I prefer Solidworks, yes. It's just about the interface. Unfortunatelly i can't show you any of my projects as they are under NDA.
Nautilus is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 01-18-2018, 09:45 AM   #22
Pro
 
duburban's Avatar
 
Trade: building
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: vermont
Posts: 1,554
Rewards Points: 1,294

Re: Any Review Of CAD Options?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nautilus View Post
For indoor stuff I prefer Solidworks, yes. It's just about the interface. Unfortunatelly i can't show you any of my projects as they are under NDA.
I get that. Its also nice to have a modeling program that is highly capable and doesn't force you to work within a set of BIM-like constraints.
duburban is offline  
Old 02-09-2018, 02:06 PM   #23
Registered User
 
Berkeley_B's Avatar
 
Trade: Metal Buildings
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 18

Re: Any Review Of CAD Options?


Having used all the major cad programs such as Autocad, 3ds Max, etc. My favorite is Sketchup. Sketchup can open any dwg file that is used in CAD. I then use a rendering program called Keyshot to render all of our Metal Building Designs. Attached are a couple of photos. I have it down to where I can produce a complete design and render in under 2 hours.


Last edited by Tinstaafl; 02-09-2018 at 05:40 PM. Reason: Remove link
Berkeley_B is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Berkeley_B For This Useful Post:
greg24k (02-09-2018)
   
 
Old 02-09-2018, 07:07 PM   #24
Pro
 
B.Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Midwest
Posts: 881
Rewards Points: 1,128

Re: Any Review Of CAD Options?


I could do the same thing using Home Designer Pro in 20 minutes.

Advertisement

__________________
Home Designer Series Software
B.Johnson is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to B.Johnson For This Useful Post:
greg24k (02-09-2018)


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deck Construction @ Winery: Review Our Plans? dutchswan General Discussion 14 05-23-2013 12:14 PM
Exterior wall covering options? bob_cntrctr Construction 8 02-25-2013 07:05 AM
Website Review Input tonyc56 Websites and SEO 12 01-02-2013 04:26 AM
Soffit Options for this home plazaman Windows, Siding and Doors 4 07-11-2012 09:41 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?