Transaction Priviledge Tax Arizona... Confused.

Old 03-22-2009, 07:23 PM   #1

Trade: handyman
Rewards Points: 10

Transaction Priviledge Tax Arizona... Confused.

I hope this is the right place to post this....

Im applying for my contractor license in arizona and on the application, and in the contractors guide it says all prime contractors must have a TPT license to do business in the state of arizona. Its also refered to as a sales tax which is passed on through the customers. i guess every month im supposed to file a slip for TPT and return it to the department of revenue even if i dont make anything at all. ok... this is so confusing i hope someone can help. i have a couple questions.

1. what if im a contractor and i work for a company instead of owning my own. do i still have to be accountable for this tax? i guess most contractors are 1099 so im assuming yes... but im not sure.

2. is the TPT a replacement for any state taxes i normally pay? how does this all work with my az tax filing?

3. if u live in AZ, how do u deal with this TPT issue? please share your thoughts and stories.

4. there are a list of cities in the valley that say they dont use the TPT system.... phoenix being one of them.... this is SO CONFUSING. how am i supposed to keep all of this straight?

5. Im just running a handyman business with just me. i dont really intend on making a ton maybe 20 grand a year to start. any advise on how to handle this TPT issue?

thanks for any help! -Dustin in Phoenix-

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 03-22-2009, 07:58 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Roofer, Domains and Hosting
Rewards Points: 1,000