Tips For Success, What To Expect

Old 11-06-2017, 11:06 PM   #1

Trade: Painting
Rewards Points: 28

Tips For Success, What To Expect

Forgive me if I'm in the wrong place, but I just don't know where else on the internet I can ask.

So an opportunity landed in my lap. I was recently laid off (employer lost the contract) and I needed work. A good friend of mine, who is a paint contractor, called and long story short, he needs someone to drive his van. He said he'll employ me and teach me to paint if I can do it. I said heck yes.

I've never painted anything in my life. I'm new to construction in general. In my preparation, I found the Idaho Painter on youtube (love that guy), and I've been watching his vids getting psyched. It would be cool to learn a trade that would pay a decent wage.

I love and respect my friend a lot, and I want to do a good job and be successful. What are some tips for being successful in this industry? Obviously I'm going to work my butt off and give it everything that I have. Is there anything else I need to know?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 11-07-2017, 06:05 AM   #2
John the Builder

Trade: Carpenter/Builder
Rewards Points: 5,844

Re: Tips For Success, What To Expect

Quote:
Originally Posted by BasinEMT View Post
....What are some tips for being successful in this industry? Obviously I'm going to work my butt off and give it everything that I have. Is there anything else I need to know?
Listen, understand, and follow what your friend says.

It doesn't get any deeper than that.

Advertisement

Old 11-07-2017, 07:56 AM   #3
This space for lease

Trade: General
Rewards Points: 16,626