Silly Architect, Building Is For CONTRACTORS!

Old 01-05-2011, 07:12 PM   #1
Contractor & Designer

Trade: General Contractor & Architect

Silly Architect, Building Is For CONTRACTORS!

How do you deal with incompetent architects?

I have been in an ongoing battle with an architect and he is driving me crazy. What is making matters worse, is that since I am an architect myself, I know how things should be done, how to treat an owner, etc.

Yesterday, the architect was fighting with the owner of a project, over light fixtures. Being sarcastic, etc. I know damn well to not fight with an owner. Within reason, when they say jump, I say how high.

Today I received some details, that have coincidentally voided previous details because THEY ARE CONNECTED. When you review, design, change a detail, you need to look at the big picture, not just one detail. Like the beam/drywall detail at the top of a wall is connected to the door frame detail at the bottom of the wall. IT IS THE SAME WALL!!!

he changed the specs on the Recessed TV's. Owner purchased. I installed, well tried to anyway. THEY DIDN'T FIT!!! He assured us that they were the same as the originally specified TV's, but 1/2 the thickness. WRONG!! Different mounting requirements, different brackets, DIFFERENT WIRING!!! The bracketing needed to be modified, the coax cabling needed to be changed to HDMI cabling, and MY WALLS ARE COMPLETE & PAINTED!!!

Why does this happen? Why do I care so much that this bothers me? Why am I in this business?

Signed, an unhappy contractor

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 01-05-2011, 07:17 PM   #2
Project Superintendent

Trade: General Contractor