Making Hole In Concrete Basement For Window

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2010, 08:50 PM   #21
Pro
 
Cjeff's Avatar
 
Trade: Renovations
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 560
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Making Hole In Concrete Basement For Window


I am 2 hours to saskatoon.

We rented the chainsaw version. Will cut from outside so dust less of an issue, I also have a very good full face dust mask.

I'll report tomorrow how it went (insert crossed fingers emoticon here)
Cjeff is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   
 

Old 08-06-2010, 02:06 PM   #22
Pro
 
jomama's Avatar
 
Trade: Concrete & masonry
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 792
Rewards Points: 582

Re: Making Hole In Concrete Basement For Window


Sorry I missed this until now...........

I hope you took your rain suit with.....

I've been cutting with a 613 ICS for about 5 or 6 years now. It's easily the best approach to eggress windows IMO, especially when you have a sytem in place.

We cut with a standard cut-off saw (14" or 16") to get a straight line.
We then chase the same cut lines with a "fat" 1/4" thick blade to prepare for the chainsaw.
Then we finish the cut with the ICS.

We've already cut openings into existing finished rooms in the basement, with the only down side being a few ounces of water between the foundation wall & wood wall. It just takes a litte planning.

Good luck with the cutting, and don't forget to make the bottom, horizontal cut first.
jomama is online now  
Old 08-06-2010, 11:58 PM   #23
Pro
 
Cjeff's Avatar
 
Trade: Renovations
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 560
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Making Hole In Concrete Basement For Window


Used the ICS diamond blade chain saw. Not sure of the model number. Worked slick, well that is the 2nd saw did, except the nut on the kill switch (toggle switch) was missing and when doing horizontal cuts it would shut off It was $320 to rent and cut time was around 3 hours, hard to say with the hassle of the first saw.

Scored about 2" deep all around. Made plunge cuts with it. Opening was 39" wide X 29" high. Cut bottom first then top then sides. Actually took it out in 4 pieces

Room had a finished hardwood floor. So we put poly on floor and walls & ceiling, osb in front of wdw area, and thick quilts to absorb the water. Plus held a snow shovel under the opening to catch the water and run it into a tub.

Maybe I used to much water but 6" in a clay hole is a pain. We bucketed it out about 4 or 5 times. Will use a Sump pump next time.

Thanks all for advice & help.

Oh yeah I did wear rain pants and gloves. As well as a full face mask with cartridges and ear plugs. The exhaust fumes were horrible, the just seemed to sit there, also had blue haze in basement. Next time will rent a fan also.
Cjeff is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 12:11 AM   #24
Expeditious Member
 
JohnR's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrician
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Central CT US of A
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 12

Re: Making Hole In Concrete Basement For Window


If you need the ICS saw for more than 1 day or multiple jobs , It would be cheaper to just buy one. I saw them for 2399 +s,h at a northern tool company. wouldn't take but a couple of days for someone to make back their investment.
JohnR is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 04:07 PM   #25
Contractor
 
tgeb's Avatar
 
Trade: Excavation, Foundation, Concrete
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,455
Rewards Points: 3,006

Re: Making Hole In Concrete Basement For Window


I personally prefer the Partner K950 chain saw.

No real reason other than I have known Partner for a long time, and believe the parts availability is much better.
Ohh, and the ICS I rented once was a turd...

The chains are expensive but they cut great.

You can find some good deals on the net.

http://www.mytoolstore.com/partner/k960chn.html

__________________
Tom

www.gebcon.com
tgeb is online now  
Old 08-08-2010, 09:12 AM   #26
Pro
 
jomama's Avatar
 
Trade: Concrete & masonry
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 792
Rewards Points: 582

Re: Making Hole In Concrete Basement For Window


Quote:
Originally Posted by tgeb View Post

The chains are expensive but they cut great.

You can find some good deals on the net.


If those are the actual prices, I'm glad I have an ICS with a good dealer. The bars and chains are about half that price, which adds up fast.
jomama is online now  
Old 10-08-2010, 06:22 PM   #27
Registered User
 
Frenchie@dbw's Avatar
 
Trade: Account Manager
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wood Dale, Il
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Making Hole In Concrete Basement For Window


Why use a Gas Chain saw? Hydraulic is much better although you need a power pack. I would recommend the Blue Shark Chain. Why you ask because it has a segment every link while the ICS doesn't. What that means is that the chain will not stretch as fast and will cut faster. Though the chain is really only for the corner cuts. You can do a full cut out with them but of course you will wear the chains out faster. First I would Use Either a Wall Saw and the Blue Shark is a good blade as well as their chain. Reasonably priced under ICS as well. Once you do your initial cuts with the wall saw finish the corners with the chain so you don't have the ugly cuts beyond the corner. With a Diamond Blade you take the diameter of the blade divide it by 2 then subtract 2 so really a 14" blade cuts just under 5 inches at 4 and 3/4s a 14" chain will cut 14"
Frenchie@dbw is offline  
Old 10-08-2010, 07:10 PM   #28
Pro
 
abacab's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 326
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Making Hole In Concrete Basement For Window


I pay under $300 for an egress window size hole, and that is to have a company come and do it. I did the chain saw thing once, cost me the same amount after paying for wear on the blade. It also gives off exhaust which was awful in a hole, or in the basement.
abacab is offline  
Old 10-08-2010, 07:31 PM   #29
Don
 
rotarex's Avatar
 
Trade: Renovator/ Builder
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,322
Rewards Points: 508

Re: Making Hole In Concrete Basement For Window


I draw out my window opening, use a 1/2"x12" sds bit drill all 4 corners, make sure the drill is level, then i use a quickcut wet saw inside and outside and BAM! out comes the block, then chip away at any imperfections
1st time you will make a ****ty cut for sure and spend a lil more time cleaning it up, but by the 3rd cut it comes really good
__________________
Custom Decks
Custom aquarium all salt water
Renovation
next on my list............planting trees for all those material i used
rotarex is offline  
Old 10-09-2010, 12:26 PM   #30
Pro
 
Wayfarer Doors's Avatar
 
Trade: windows and doors/ construction supervisor
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: South Western Ontario/ South Western Mexico
Posts: 197
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Making Hole In Concrete Basement For Window


I have done it 4 ways: hired a company to come it and cut it. Really slick, saw was on railes, hydrolic pump was 20' away on the truck, but expensive, charged by the inch.
Could also rent a ring saw, this is also hydrolic with the gas powered pump a few feet away: alot lighter without the gas engine. The ring saw is by far the coolest looking saw I've ever seen.
The time we hired a chain saw was a complete mess: cuts weren't straight so blocks wouldn't come out easily, really wedged in there, also I got carbon monoxide poisoning because exaust is blown forward.
Lastly, the cheapest is using an sds with chipper and knocking it out. Parge and cap out side. Did 2 windows in 1 hour, cost $40.
Wayfarer Doors is offline  
Old 10-09-2010, 05:09 PM   #31
master hacker of wood
 
FRAME2FINISH's Avatar
 
Trade: restoration carpentry
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: cny
Posts: 2,436
Rewards Points: 1,624

Re: Making Hole In Concrete Basement For Window


i bought a makita cutoff saw to demo a couple floors, came to about a grand total and is very quick at cutting. would of got a stihl but he gave me away better deal on it and seeing as i haven't used it in 2 years i would say it was worth it .
FRAME2FINISH is online now  
Old 10-10-2010, 12:06 PM   #32
Pro
 
jomama's Avatar
 
Trade: Concrete & masonry
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 792
Rewards Points: 582

Re: Making Hole In Concrete Basement For Window


Quote:
Originally Posted by Frenchie@dbw View Post
Why use a Gas Chain saw? Hydraulic is much better although you need a power pack. I would recommend the Blue Shark Chain. Why you ask because it has a segment every link while the ICS doesn't. What that means is that the chain will not stretch as fast and will cut faster. Though the chain is really only for the corner cuts. You can do a full cut out with them but of course you will wear the chains out faster. First I would Use Either a Wall Saw and the Blue Shark is a good blade as well as their chain. Reasonably priced under ICS as well. Once you do your initial cuts with the wall saw finish the corners with the chain so you don't have the ugly cuts beyond the corner. With a Diamond Blade you take the diameter of the blade divide it by 2 then subtract 2 so really a 14" blade cuts just under 5 inches at 4 and 3/4s a 14" chain will cut 14"

Do you have a picture & ballpark price for this chain?
jomama is online now  
Old 10-11-2010, 10:31 PM   #33
Registered User
 
Frenchie@dbw's Avatar
 
Trade: Account Manager
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wood Dale, Il
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Making Hole In Concrete Basement For Window


Quote:
Originally Posted by jomama View Post
Do you have a picture & ballpark price for this chain?
I could definitely give you a price, but I need to know what kind of saw you are running it on and if you have a force four (880) system and the size of the bar. I will have a real picture tomorrow sorry for any inconvenience. If you want it by the foot we have it in 25ft boxes so you can make your own size.

__________________
Bill Paris
Diamond Blade Warehouse Account Manager
847-388-0199 ph 630-212-3195 cell 800-dblades ext 0199


Frenchie@dbw is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugging up wood stove chimney hole, what to use? pitterpat Masonry 3 04-02-2010 05:02 AM
Few questions regarding basement footer drains and my current basement floor Little Excavation & Site Work 7 10-27-2009 07:53 AM
tunneling under concrete wireless General Discussion 5 01-13-2009 05:45 PM
Installing tile on a concrete floor in a basement... do I need a membrane? EZ Mode Ceramic & Stone Tile 33 05-09-2008 11:56 PM
Would Concrete stair be good going to basement from garage? TurnkeyConst Masonry 1 04-04-2007 08:47 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?