How To Roll Up A Cord

Old 03-08-2009, 09:30 PM   #1

Trade: Residential Home Design/Custom Home Building
Rewards Points: 25

How To Roll Up A Cord

OK, I have been rolling my cords up the same way for 20 years. I have always know of this being called the Carpenter loop.

First you bring the male and female ends togther, tie a loose knot, then pull through that knot another loop, then another, then another till it's all done. I find this the best way to quickly roll cords with no knots or troube unrolling them. Once you want the cord you simply undo the end and then pull it all out in one quick pull.

Does anyone know who started this type cord loop roll up? Is it a Carpenter loop or did some other sub invent it? Where did it start?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 03-08-2009, 09:36 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Carpentry
Rewards Points: 75

Re: How To Roll Up A Cord

ever been boating?

Old 03-08-2009, 09:37 PM   #3

Is that where it started? Boating?
Old 03-08-2009, 09:40 PM   #4
Curmudgeon

Trade: carpentry/remodeling/"Yes M'am we do"
Location: Beech Grove, Indiana, Birthplace of the "King of Cool"
Rewards Points: 2,000

Sailors, when wind moved ships.
The Following User Says Thank You to neolitic For This Useful Post:
SWAY79 (03-09-2009)
Old 03-08-2009, 10:18 PM   #5
Pro

Trade: building for 30 years. new homes , additions
Rewards Points: 250

That's how my grandfather taught me to roll up the cords . He was a sailor .
Old 03-08-2009, 10:20 PM   #6
Certified Remodeler

Trade: Kitchen bath remodeler