Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

Handyman Connection - CA CLSB Law Questions

6K views 13 replies 7 participants last post by  Rob1954 
#1 ·
I’ve been a licensed contractor for over two years now and have been running my own business for a little over a year. However, I’ve been involved in the trades for over 13 years.

So, every once and a while I’ll do work for past employers or even get subbed work from a previous employer (or other contractors in general).

The other day I applied for a company that posted on craigslist and I received a phone call back. The owner/manager wanted to meet up and do an interview. Everything went fine, but I’m looking for a few answers about the legality of the business structure and if there are any guys on here that have worked for this company.

To sum it up, Handyman Connection is a licensed, bonded and insured company, that has national marking and recognition; regardless of how bad the reviews are.

Here’s where I’m concerned about the legal aspect from what they’ve told me:

1. I will be paid on a 1099, however I am not a ‘sub’ and I am working under their license.

If I’m not mistaken, a 1099 is a legal ‘independent contractor’ and in California must be licensed and or work under that license?

2. I will be covered under their workers compensation and general liability insurance.

As in the first question, since I’m an ‘independent contractor’ under a 1099, can I even be covered under their insurances and are they just saying that to get me onboard?

3. I am to pay for all materials myself, then get reimbursed from the company after progress payments have been submitted to the company from the client to me to the company. Or that the customer is to pay for all materials up front by purchasing them because I would be responsible for cost of materials if the company is not paid.