Garage Door Opener Losing Code - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Garage Door Opener Losing Code

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2018, 08:25 AM   #1
Pro
 
DaVinciRemodel's Avatar
 
Trade: Design/Build Remodeler
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 5,282
Rewards Points: 866

Garage Door Opener Losing Code


On Sunday, I programmed two different garage door openers at a clientís house with two different openers (the ones in the headboards of the cars). They worked all day Sunday. On Monday, they donít work anymore (neither car Ė neither opener). Any ideas on what could be happening?

I contacted my garage door sub and got these steps to follow:

1. Unplug the units for one hour.
2. Remove all LED and CFL lightbulbs for the area.
3. Reprogram after the hour.

Does this make any sense?
__________________
I love what I do and I'm very good at it!

Da Vinci on the web or Da Vinci On Facebook
DaVinciRemodel is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 01-31-2018, 08:35 AM   #2
Pro
 
cwatbay's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Carlos, California
Posts: 1,258
Rewards Points: 2,084

Re: Garage Door Opener Losing Code


A client of mine had the same problem. Found out it was the CFL lights in his garage. Openers worked for a short time then quit. He replaced the CFL's and everything worked again.

They seems to work ok with LED lighting. Same thing in our living room. Remote controls would only work sporadically with CFLs, changed to LEDs and now everything works.

Advertisement

cwatbay is offline  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to cwatbay For This Useful Post:
DaVinciRemodel (01-31-2018), hdavis (01-31-2018), Railman (01-31-2018)
Old 01-31-2018, 09:38 AM   #3
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,623
Rewards Points: 10,766

Re: Garage Door Opener Losing Code


Long shot, but: Are you sure you're not entering a temporary code?
__________________
Why is there not a Flat Mars Society?.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
DaVinciRemodel (02-01-2018)
   
 
Old 01-31-2018, 10:21 AM   #4
Pro
 
Railman's Avatar
 
Trade: Railing
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 2,339
Rewards Points: 459

Re: Garage Door Opener Losing Code


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Long shot, but: Are you sure you're not entering a temporary code?
I recently went through the same ordeal, but thought I messed with something on the unit when I was resetting the limits. I was almost convinced the unit went bad, because it didn't make any sense how I could have reprogrammed it.

Once I found a u-tube video on reprogramming, it's been good to go. The whippy dip lights, in combination with constant Duke Energy brown outs, and power surges was probably the cause.
Railman is offline  
Old 01-31-2018, 09:35 PM   #5
Pro
 
RickP's Avatar
 
Trade: Door Installer
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Fayetteville, Tn
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 316

Re: Garage Door Opener Losing Code


What brand of opener? Yes, install incandescent bulbs if there are LED's or CFL's.
RickP is offline  
Old 01-31-2018, 10:47 PM   #6
John the Builder
 
SmallTownGuy's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter/Builder
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 12,858
Rewards Points: 820

Re: Garage Door Opener Losing Code


I learned something today!

Damned remotes & CFLs !!!
__________________
All my Life loving Hippie friends turned into soul-sucking Conservatives - or died. Same difference.
"Mornin' ladies, my goodness don't you look happy. Must be cuttin' somebody up pretty good." - Andy Griffiths
SmallTownGuy is online now  
Old 02-01-2018, 08:35 AM   #7
Pro
 
DaVinciRemodel's Avatar
 
Trade: Design/Build Remodeler
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 5,282
Rewards Points: 866

Re: Garage Door Opener Losing Code


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Long shot, but: Are you sure you're not entering a temporary code?
I think I was entering the permanent code. Now you got me thinking.
__________________
I love what I do and I'm very good at it!

Da Vinci on the web or Da Vinci On Facebook
DaVinciRemodel is offline  
Old 02-01-2018, 09:01 AM   #8
Pro
 
RickP's Avatar
 
Trade: Door Installer
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Fayetteville, Tn
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 316

Re: Garage Door Opener Losing Code


Some of the new openers can be frustrating ​to program. Used to be able to push the learn button and then push the remote and you were done. Now you have to hop on one foot with your hand on your head and spin around.
RickP is offline  
Old 02-05-2018, 09:06 AM   #9
Registered User
 
FlowTheWood's Avatar
 
Trade: Renovation + Restoration
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 4

Re: Garage Door Opener Losing Code


If you take a cheap voltage tester and press the button and walk by a cfl, itís puts enough voltage into the air to set off the voltage tester, fluorescent tube lights do it too.

Advertisement

FlowTheWood is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Homeowner Fights Town Rules On Roofing greg24k General Discussion 79 03-08-2013 06:03 PM
First time ZackyBundles Drywall Picture Post 155 02-07-2013 07:11 PM
2 spare breakers 15 & 20a, want to wire outlets in garage pitterpat Electrical 8 05-13-2012 02:58 PM
Is Glass code in garage door between house and garage? abacab Windows, Siding and Doors 23 09-14-2011 07:17 PM
Vapour barrier between garage and living area?? big builder Insulation 18 12-23-2008 01:25 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?