Employees Or Sub-Contractors?

Old 03-08-2011, 06:50 PM   #1
Pro

Trade: GC/Carpenter
Rewards Points: 75

Employees Or Sub-Contractors?

Im a General Contractor whom has two employees (journeyman carpenters) who are good with concrete and framing. Currently, we sub out everything else. I will always sub out the mechanical work, but am curious to know what everyones take is on having an employee or sub-contractor take care of all the finishing work (drywall, taping, painting, flooring etc)?

I find I have great effieceincy with my two employees, but not as much with the sub contractors!

Id like to know what everyone else does, and why or why it doesnt work?

Thanks!

Confused |Contractor

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 03-08-2011, 07:04 PM   #2
Thom

Trade: General Contractor/Homebuilder
Rewards Points: 2,542

Re: Employees Or Sub-Contractors?

It all depends how big you want to get.

When I did remodel, we did most in house. Get a framer/finisher, electrician, plumber, and a mix of the others. The trades do their own thing and help the others out as laborers. Some guys are competent at more than one trade, others aren't. Generally the Framing, trim, drywall, roofing, and concrete have some crossover between them. The guys won't be as fast as guys who do one thing every day but you offset that with much easier scheduling and better control.

When you get to large projects (complete houses) go with subs. At that point the efficiency of dedicated trades outweighs the other factors.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to thom For This Useful Post:
CanningCustom (03-09-2011), Mud Master (03-08-2011)
Old 03-08-2011, 07:08 PM   #3
Pro