Building A House In Serbia - Stranger In A Strange Land

Old 03-20-2017, 03:32 PM   #1

Trade: Builder
Rewards Points: 12

Building A House In Serbia - Stranger In A Strange Land

Hello
I am a former Oregon Contractor now living in Serbia and getting ready to build a house. The housing here is extremely poor. You do need to submit plans to municipalities and they charge taxes and fees on it but there is only a final inspection. There are very few people who actually know how to build a house and no scrutiny so comes some of the weirdest wet structures imaginable. I am pretty much on my own in a strange land and could really do with someone to talk about the project.

The property is on a hill with about a 22 percent slope. I am building a daylight basement with a single main floor. The daylight has no step with ceiling height of about 9 feet. I have tried to make the structure as simple as possible as I do not have any experienced help. For the Daylight basement I am going to utilizes an ICF Styrene block system. I have actually never built one of these but I have seen them done. I wish I would have paid more attention now. I am using this system as again I do not have any qualified help and it is fast and puts high quality isolation in place and is easy to wire and plumb and finish. The main floor will be wood and straw construction something I did the last five years of my work in Oregon.

The daylight basement is 40’X40’and a 20’X20’ garage that takes off on the up slope part of the main floor. The back wall of the house has a concrete balcony that wraps around the house to the Garage. Under these covered portions will be a concrete patio and walkway and stairs up to the garage. 50% of the daylight basement will have abutted walk ways or patios with the remainder retaining the hill and garage area. Above the house I am putting in three one yard retaining walls to bring the slop down at the start of the house.