Aspiring Contractor, Need Input - General Discussion - Contractor Talk

Aspiring Contractor, Need Input

Old 03-04-2018, 02:47 AM   #1
New Guy

Trade: Painting
Rewards Points: 58

Aspiring Contractor, Need Input

I am an apprentice painter/college student (business major) facing high amounts of pressure from family to quit construction altogether and focus entirely on school. I have a passion for construction, so I've mostly ignored them. But they and my friends who have worked construction made a point that I can't shake: the effect of construction on the body over time.

I have one friend who was a journeyman carpenter. In his 40's he went back to school because his body couldn't handle the work anymore. I have another friend who is 55 and in the trades, and is trying to land a shop job driving forklift due to the same thing. The latter seems to agree with my family, especially given my knack for academics and my aptitude toward accounting and finance.

My approach to construction is mostly entrepreneurial. I eventually want to stop field work and manage a company from a shop/office, delegating the actual painting to employees. I want to build a respectable and reputable remodeling company. Management is the long term goal. I'm 27, so I have plenty of time to make this happen. How feasible is this goal, and what is your take on this concern raised by my friends and family?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 03-04-2018, 06:03 AM   #2
Pro

Trade: Carpentry
Rewards Points: 428

Re: Aspiring Contractor, Need Input

They are right.