Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

Anyone else disgusted with Granicrete

14K views 10 replies 5 participants last post by  bishopyoder 
#1 ·
I'm a licensed contractor and can't stand some of the companies I deal with... here's the latest from a company called GranicreteDoes anyone have experience with Granicrete International Headquarters? I hope someone can change my opinion of them. I paid my $800 for two workshops from the San Diego Distributor at the time. Part of the money I paid for my training provided me with online access to what they call the Granicrete "U" which is a backend site for installers to chat, etc (and it says it in the manual I received) Recently the San Diego distributor started carrying another product and discontinued Granicrete. I purchased product from the distributor at the time so had some materials to do a few small jobs for friends and family. Recently I couldn't get access to the U. I emailed and called Granicrete headquarters and was informed by Marc Winkelman (Granicrete CEO) that my privileges were revoked since I hadn't ordered any material from Granicrete. I said that I didn't have any jobs and was going to drive to Riverside to buy it from the Granicrete distributor there. Marc indicated to me that he would sell it to me cheaper than Riverside distributor would....My first red flag that they would try to take a sale from one of their own distributors. He indicated that it would save me time driving up there...it's only 45 minutes away so it wasn't that big of a deal. I explained that I hadn't had any jobs so didn't need any material but was trying to sell it seeing my primary business is landscaping. Well, to say the least we emailed back and forth and Marc Winkelman indicated that I wouldn't ever have access and he told me to go buy product from the San Diego distributor who apparently has better product than Granicrete. I am irate that someone would treat a customer like this and apparent