Advantages Of Contractor's License

Old 11-23-2006, 12:16 PM   #1

Trade: Redevelop/Investment
Rewards Points: 10

Advantages Of Contractor's License

I was wondering if you guys can help me understand if there are any advantages in having a contractor's license for an owner-builder/developer like me. Here is the deal.

I've recently completed building a house from the ground up (as owner builder) and have sold it for very good profit. I, my father, and my brother, have all worked many various jobs in construction before, so we did a lot of work ourselves, but we also obviously hired various contractors for all kinds of jobs we didn't see the point in doing ourselves. I am now considering buying a fourplex in less than prime condition, fixing it, leasing it, and selling it. I would later like to move to fixing up run down office buildings. I wish to go the "investment real estate" route this time instead of building a house, because I am a commercial real estate broker and often come across great redevelopment opportunities.

I've got the experience to get the license, so here is my question. Considering that I never plan to hire workers to work for me, and aside from the awesome ability to be able to post on here with other contractors, are there advantages of having a contractor's license for someone like me? Do you often get some kind of discount (particularly for the materials after rough inspection) that I wouldn't get? Is there some kind of "insider's information" that is available to contractors that I am overlooking? Most importantly: Are the city/county planning and building officials more willing to work with you guys in getting you the permits/information on development in the city?