I've Outgrown QuickBooks, What Now?

Old 07-19-2007, 10:45 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0

I've Outgrown QuickBooks, What Now?

I am a drywall contractor with about 40 employees. For several years now I have been using Excel for estimating, scheduling, and equipment management and QuickBooks Contractor Pro for accounting. My frustrations have grown as the complexity of my jobs grows. I need software that integrates the entire process; estimating, contracts, change orders, PO management, scheduling, job costing, accounting, reports, etc.
I have looked at the Sage Master Builder demo and it seems to have a lot of what I'm looking for. However I have been reading some horror stories about users who paid big money and were never able to get it to function. Granted these are older posts, before Sage took over, but still I have not seen any recent reviews from actual users. Is there anyone using MB? What do you like or dislike about it? Are there other programs out there I should consider?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 07-19-2007, 06:44 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Low Voltage
Rewards Points: 502

Re: I've Outgrown QuickBooks, What Now?

The builder I worked for used TimberLine. They seemed to like it. Did all the accounting, estimating, POs, etc..

However as their IT guy, I really did not like the database backend they had as it seemed to cause a lot of memory clutter.

I can certainly attest to their support though. If you get the service package with them, they are amazing to deal with. Extremely helpful.

Old 07-19-2007, 10:00 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: Builder, Additions, large remodels...Lately also small remodels.......
Rewards Points: 500