Starting A Flooring Business

Old 07-03-2006, 03:10 PM   #1

Trade: General Contracting
Rewards Points: 10

Starting A Flooring Business

I am a college student with a unwavering interest in contracting and construction. I am seriously thinking of starting a flooring business providing contractors and the general public with flooring materials and installation. However, I am not sure how contractors purchase their flooring materials. I was wondering if you all could give any comments or pointers to keep in mind. All advice negative or positive is welcome.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 07-03-2006, 07:08 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: contractor
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Starting A Flooring Business

if you're interested in contracting/construction --- why are you going into wholesale??

Old 07-05-2006, 10:56 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: Hardwood Flooring
Rewards Points: 250
Send a message via MSN to Donedat

My advice is get a job. Your unwavering interest only goes so far as the fact that you have zero experience. Get a job at a lumber store, a carpet store or some similar place. Don't quit college. Get a business degree of some sort and take some classes on industry and pay your way through with a low level job within your area of interest.
Floorwizard (05-07-2009), Joegreen (03-21-2013), pinwheel (03-22-2013)
Old 07-06-2006, 04:34 PM   #4
Paul

Trade: Hard Surface Flooring
Rewards Points: 420

Donedat has posted some outstanding advice for you. Interest, does not a business owner make. Education, experience, and the un-wavering ability to work hard are some of the necessary requirements.