Laminate Stairs

Old 10-06-2004, 09:04 PM   #1
New Guy

Laminate Stairs

Hello! I accidentially stumbled onto your forum the other day. It is outstanding. Excellent advice. Folks seem to have fun too.

My favorite customer has decided to have me intall laminate "wood" flooring. I have never tried this material before. She wants to remove existing carpet on the stairs and install the laminate. The stairnose and trim appears to be rather expensive at around $50 to $70 for a 7 foot stick.

The living room and hallway appears to be straightforward, and a good place to learn on.

She has 13 steps, and they are enclosed. I estimated about 6 to 8 hours, knowing full well that it will take much longer than this as it is my first time.

Are there any tips that might be helpful? Does anyone have any alternatives to laminate on the stairs that would be of similar cost? She insists that she does not want carpet anymore.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 10-06-2004, 10:36 PM   #2
Pro

Send a message via AIM to Don Benham

Re: Laminate Stairs

I hate the idea of a hard surface on stairs. Recipe for disaster IMO. I always at least suggest a carpet runner for safety. Using quality stair rods would make the staircase look awesome. And not break a leg. If this is your first laminate job and she insists on laminating the stairs, I would suggest subbing at least that portionof the job out to a pro.

Don

Look, I know the voices in my head aren't real, it's just that lately they've had some really good points.
Old 10-07-2004, 12:32 AM   #3
Flooring Guru

Trade: Sales Manager