Getting Laminate Under Door Casing And Jambs

Old 08-31-2006, 11:54 PM   #1

Trade: i am a small remodeling contractor been at this most my life
Rewards Points: 77

Getting Laminate Under Door Casing And Jambs

hello again..most laminate floorin ive done has been the kind u lay flat and tap together locking it..well this job is Armstrong laminate and its a lil different its lays in at an angle then u push it on down locking it in place u have to do the hole row before rollin it on down so my question is how do u get this laminate under the caseing and jambs after u under cut them ? you cant lay this brand flat and drive it together cause it damages the laminate .. please help ty.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 09-01-2006, 03:44 PM   #2

Trade: Remodeling, Home Improvement, Decks, Etc.
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Getting Laminate Under Door Casing And Jambs

I am not a flooring expert but when working with this type of flooring, I usually build the floor outside the area where I want to install and then slide the assembly in to place as a unit.

Another option would be to use a hand planer and to plane off the lip on the tounge enough to allow you to tap and glue the two pieces together.
hope this helps

Advertisement

Old 09-01-2006, 04:19 PM   #3

Trade: i am a small remodeling contractor been at this most my life
Rewards Points: 77

Thanks Mike this is exactely what i did..i was just wondering if any of the old pro's might know a good trick or a better way...thanks again'

Old 09-01-2006, 04:59 PM   #4
Pro

Trade: Bathroom Remodeling
Rewards Points: 2,000