Analine Dye On Fir Floor.

Old 09-19-2011, 05:36 PM   #1

Trade: Hardwood flooring
Rewards Points: 75

Analine Dye On Fir Floor.

I have a project in which we had to lace in some new red oak flooring to fill voids where walls were removed. They simply couldn't sand the whole thing so I spent waaaay too long finding a stain and blending with the existing oak. Well we did too good a job cause now they want me to stain their adjacent fir flooring to match/compliment a dark brown. I have now spent waaay to long doing samples on the fir to no avail. My sequence: sand to 100 grit, pop grain, sand to 120 screen, condition, wipe on, wipe off oil based stain. Way to much variation in color. I am now considering an analine dye, though I have no experience with it. I can read instructions and will obviously test, but I hope someone here can offer advice so that I may be able to cut my losses time wise. Thanks in advance for any input.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 09-20-2011, 10:41 AM   #2
Pro

Trade: wood flooring
Rewards Points: 1,280

Re: Analine Dye On Fir Floor.

never worked with it and have no idea what you are actually trying to accomplish..but if you want my advice..it is this.

stop trying to be a miracle worker..it is 2 different species with 2 very different characteristics...they will Never be the same.

now since in your post you said the scary word "losses:..it suggests my advice is the best you will receive.

but one tip....if just need the stain to be dark....leave it set longer...or apply with lambswool, let stand..then go back and wipe off lightly to even..